Gasholders Nos. 10, 11 and 12 were built for the storage of town gas for Pancras Gasworks, the largest gasworks in London.
The gasholders were originally constructed in 1860-67 and enlarged in 1879-80 with new interconnected guide frames and telescopic lifts.
Gas was manufactured here using coal from the Imperial Gas, Light and Coke Company until the late 20th Century when the gasworks was decommissioned.
The gasholders are known as the ‘Siamese Triplet’ because their frames are joined by a common spine. The frames are highly decorative with three tiers of hollow cylindrical.
The frames are highly decorative with three tiers of hollow cylindrical cast iron columns, cast iron capitals and three tiers of wrought iron riveted lattice girders.
… and now
The gasholders have been restored by a specialist engineering firm in Yorkshire. Now returned to King’s Cross,
their new home is north of Regent’s Canal. Here the triplet frame has been re-erected around a series of apartment buildings. The historic, cast-iron structures create a stunning setting for new studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, many with fantastic views over the water.
At the top of the buildings the roof gardens provide magnificent views over the canal, parks, and the city beyond. The initial concept design is by Wilkinson Eyre Architects.
To learn more, register your interest here.